Third update - Reisverslag uit Edinburgh, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Fenna Noorlander - WaarBenJij.nu Third update - Reisverslag uit Edinburgh, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Fenna Noorlander - WaarBenJij.nu

Third update

Door: Fenna

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Fenna

08 Mei 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Edinburgh

Hee peeps,

I've been in Edinburgh for over a week now and it's time for another update. So far I'm really enjoying it here and I've met lots of great people. I'll start by telling about my weekend.

Saterday I slept in for a bit and when I woke up I decided to work on school (great...). After that I took the bus and went to the Edinburgh Castle. The Castle is located on a hill and first I walked through the Royal Mile (apparently this is an important street, because lots of people take photos of the street name sign). When I arrived at the Castle I had to stand in the queue for a while, but it was very sunny so it was okay. In the Castle I wondered around and enjoyed the view. It was beautiful, but furthermore not really interesting or anything..
In the late afternoon I wanted to go to an event hosted by my internship work (Well I wasn't very enthousiastic about it, but my colleagues told me they'd love it if I stopped by). I was quite on time when I got on the bus (it would end at four o'clock), but after I while I sensed something was wrong. About this I was right: I got on the bus on the wrong side of the road... I didn't know what to do but by the time I realised the bus had already reached its end destination. I had literately no idea where I was or where I had to go. I asked the bus driver for help and told him where I needed to be, he was very kind and told me it would take me another hour to get there. So in total I sat in the bus for one and a half hour instead of just 20 minutes and by the time I arrived at the event they already started cleaning everything up. They were still happy that I stopped by and I had to say goodbye to Fiona, the cook, because she will be away on holiday the next couple of weeks.
In the evening I made myself dinner and watched some films (they have very nice tv channels here!).

Sunday morning I worked on school again and the rest of the day I spent shopping, which was very nice (happy me :)). In the evening I didn't really feel like cooking, so instead I went to McDonalds.
Overall it was a very nice weekend!

Today (Monday) I had to work around 10 o'clock. However, I had some struggles with the bus again... I think I was at the wrong stop, because the bus just didn't come (or I was just too late and the bus had left without me). Anyways I went to another bus stop and arrived a bit late at work. At work I started with setting up the tables in the cafè. My first shift was with Victoria, I worked with her on Friday as well. It was very very veryyyy quiet and I had nothing to do. After a while I started chatting with Nadia, she works at the Centre as receptionist (she wasn't in the mood for work, so actually we both did nothing). I hadn't met her before, because she was ill last week.
Together with Susan and Murray, Nadia is one of the kindest and nicest people I've met here. She is very funny and shares the same interests as me. We had lunch together and talked about several tv and cartoon series we've both watched, she also recommended some. Nadia's presence really made my day a lot more fun (otherwise it would have been boring because it was so quiet). Around half past 2 I could already leave, because there was just no one in the cafè, and the other afternoon shift volunteer (Bernadette) said she could handle it on her own.

To the ones who made it till the end of this long update: thanks for reading! In a few days I'll be back with another update!

By the way, two little things I noticed: not everybody here is a ginger, but lotsss of people are! And everyone keeps complimenting me on my English, since they appartently find their own accent weird :)

Take care,
Fenna

  • 11 Mei 2017 - 07:15

    Ellen:

    Hoi Fenna,
    Je hebt weer heel wat te vertellen en meegemaakt. Maar hoop niet dat je in paniek was. Alles komt weer op zijn pootjes terecht gelukkig. Groetje Ellen

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Fenna

Hii everyone, On this blog I will post regular updates about my internship in the capital city of Scotland: Edinburgh! I hope you will enjoy my stories :) Love, Fenna

Actief sinds 26 April 2017
Verslag gelezen: 269
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3653

Voorgaande reizen:

29 April 2017 - 13 Mei 2017

Scotland

Landen bezocht: