First update - Reisverslag uit Edinburgh, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Fenna Noorlander - WaarBenJij.nu First update - Reisverslag uit Edinburgh, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Fenna Noorlander - WaarBenJij.nu

First update

Door: Fenna

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Fenna

03 Mei 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Edinburgh

Hee everybodyy
First of all I hope everyone is enjoying their internships! Today is already my fifth day in Edinburgh, the capital city of Scotland. In this first update I will give you a small report of what I did each day.

Saterday I had to get up reallyyy early to catch my plane at 7 a.m. It wasn't very busy at the airport and my plane left on time. It was a nice and short flight. When I arrived at the Edinburgh Airport I got my luggage and took the tram to the city centre. From there I had to walk to my appartment, after a while it felt like I had been walking for ages and I discovered I got of the tram one stop too early... Fortunately I found the apartment and I had a short rest. It was still quite early in the morning and I decided to go for a walk and discover the city. I wondered around for awhile and found some nice shops :). In the evening I had dinner in a small burger restaurant, it was a nice first day in Edinburgh.

Sunday was not very interesting. I wondered around again and ended up at the Edinburgh castle. I wanted to visit it, but there was a very long queue, so I'm going to try again next weekend. In the evening I went to the McDonalds and watched tv in my apartment.

Monday was a bank holiday here in Scotland (some kind of national holiday and no one works), so I didn't have to work yet. I took the bus to Leith, a haven near to Edinburgh. Leith has a huge shopping mall and I spent a few hours here. Later that they I went to the Britannia, the yacht of the Royal British Family. I took an audio tournand gained much knowledge about the royal family, which was nice. It was a lovely day!

Tuesday was my first official internship day. I intern at the Eric Liddell Centre, a charity centre for mostly elderly and disabled people. I met my contactperson, Lynda, at the busstop and together we took the bus to the Centre. At the Centre I was introduced to everyone and my 'boss', Fiona (the chef in the kitchen), explained me what I needed to do. The Centre has a cafe where I'll be helping out at.
During the first shift in the morning I worked with a man named Duglass, he has a learning disability and has a hard time doing other work. However, he was a very kind and nice man and helped me during the shifts. Together we took orders from customers (and passed them on to the kitchen), made drinks and took care or the till. During the second shift I got to work with another man named David. David was rather old and a real Scot, meaning he had the most heavy accent I had ever heard. Most of the time I didn't understand what he meant, which resulted in me just nodding my head , hoping he didn't ask a question.
After my two shifts I went back to the apartment and in the evening I went to another burgerrestaurant. Today I realised that there are much people who struggle in life with being old or disabled and it made me think about how lucky I am to be young and without any disabilities.

Today, Wednesday, was my second day at the Centre and it was more fun than Tuesday. This was mostly because during the morning shift I got to work with a very lovely woman named Susy, her mother is in the daycare that the Centre offers and Susy volunteers at the Centre once a week. We talked a lot and had much fun, she even offered to drive me to the airport in the middle of the night for me to take my flight back to the Netherlands next week.
During the afternoon shift I worked with a Hazel, a lilliputer who was in a very bad mood and didn't really say anything actually. Luckily for me there were two guys who were very open and we chatted a lotm, which was fun.

Right now I'm sitting in a Starbucks Cafe, typing this update while sipping from my hot chocolate. This evening I will have dinner with Nick, the man who owns the apartment and who is in town for two days.

I want to thank everyone who read my rather long update (sorry about that

  • 03 Mei 2017 - 18:29

    Wilma:

    Hoi Fenna. Leuk om je eerste ervaringen te lezen. Ik hoop dat je er een leuke tijd gaat hebben. Echt heel stoer zo in je uppie!

  • 03 Mei 2017 - 20:34

    Kees:

    Ha die Fenna!

    Wat fijn om te lezen dat jij het zo naar je zin hebt! Wat een mooie ervaring zal dit voor je zijn. Ik hoop dat de hot chocolate goed smaakt, schijnen erg lekker te zijn. Leuk om te lezen dat je zo goed kon opschieten met iedereen. Echt Fenna.
    Doe de katten de groeten!

  • 03 Mei 2017 - 20:42

    Ellen:

    Wat leuk om hier je belevenissen in Schotland te lezen. Je hebt al leuke dingen ondernomen. Geniet ervan. Groetjes Ellen en Jan

  • 03 Mei 2017 - 23:43

    :

    Bedankt allemaal!

  • 05 Mei 2017 - 20:32

    Jannekee:

    Hi fenna,
    Glad to read you are enjoying Edinburgh and your new "job". I will follow your stories.
    Enjoy Edinburgh and the intership.

    Big Hug Jannekee

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Fenna

Hii everyone, On this blog I will post regular updates about my internship in the capital city of Scotland: Edinburgh! I hope you will enjoy my stories :) Love, Fenna

Actief sinds 26 April 2017
Verslag gelezen: 246
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3675

Voorgaande reizen:

29 April 2017 - 13 Mei 2017

Scotland

Landen bezocht: